Thursday, 28 July 2011

Construction Models

Follow my discussion on Linkedin's "BIM expert" group in regards to BIM Architectural Models:
A colleague of mine recently said the Architectural firm he is working for is building "Construction Models" as opposed to "regular" Architectural models. Who else is building construction models?

http://www.linkedin.com/groups/colleague-mine-recently-said-Architectural-98421.S.63856943?view=&gid=98421&type=member&item=63856943&trk=NUS_DISC_Q-ttle                     

Tips for Working with Worksets

Here are some tips for working with worksets.


  • Assign one person to create the Worksets, this can involve team input but one person should manage the worksets.

  • When selecting worksets spend some time thinking about what elements need to be on each workset. For example our last project we had Circulation which included Stairs and Elevator, Parkade, Interior layout, Roof and Exterior Shell, Level and Grids.

  • Divide up the Building logically... ie: separate wings, building areas etc... work with Building Components rather than drawing types.

  • Be selective when opening worksets. Don't open worksets that you wont be working on. Not only will you speed up opening and saving the project but you will also avoid annoying your colleagues.

  • When closing the project Relinquish all your worksets, this way other people will be able to access them.

  • Be conscious about what views you have open, periodically close all your unused view. This helps with the amount of RAM being used.

  • Set scheduled Synchronization with the Central file, we set it to be before lunch, mid afternoon and at the end of the day. You can still sync when you feel it necessary as well.

  • In a larger office schedule staggered saves back to central, this will eliminate a "Log Jamb" of information.

  • You can Reload Latest (RL) which will download the latest copy of the Central file  without uploading your local back to central.

  • Communication is important with your team members, you don't want to be overlapping duties and work. Meet often to discuss who is doing what and how it's going.

  •  If it's not working for you...change it!

Question....... Can worksets be used when NOT work-sharing? Your comments?

Wednesday, 27 July 2011

Transfering Schedules

Have you recently updated your Schedules in your Template?

And now you want to be able to use those updated schedules in your current project which has the old Schedules :-(

You can transfer the Schedule View from your template (I typically have a Project File that is identical to my Template).

Using the Insert > Insert from File > Insert Views from File menu you can transfer schedule views between Revit projects. Additionally this will transfer shared parameters between the projects as well.

Works great....

Monday, 25 July 2011

Hiding Datums in Linked File

When you link in your Site file you typically want to hide the datum levels so they don't obstruct the Levels in your Building project.

Here's how......
  1. VG (Visibility Graphics).... go to the Revit Links Tab.


  1. Under the Basic Tab change the default from by host view to Custom this will then activate the dialog box options.


  1. Then under the Annotation Categories tab change the category from <by host view> to <custom>

  1. Now you have made the Annotation Category for the Revit linked file active you can now manipulate the visibility of the Linked file categories. ie: turn of Levels.....

  1. Check your elevation view to see the results.....

Friday, 22 July 2011

View Options, saving and re-using Views

Here are the basic steps for saving and re-using views in Revit, this is great for saving those details you create in Revit so you can start developing your Revit Detail Library....

This is straight from the help menu.....

Saving Views

You can save 2D views to create a detail library for later use in other projects. This allows for reuse and saves duplication of work. You can save views that contain only view-specific elements, such as drafting views.

To save 2D views, do either of the following:

·     To save a single view, in the Project Browser, right-click the view and click Save to New File. Navigate to the desired location, enter a file name, and click Save.

·     To save several views from the project, select Save As Library View. In the Save Views dialog, select the views to save, and click OK. Navigate to the desired location, enter a file name, and click Save.

Saving Views to an External Project


Use the following procedure to save a view to an external Revit project. This operation will save the view and all elements (model elements and view-specific elements) visible in that view to a new project file.

  1. Select a view in the Project Browser.
  2. Right-click the view name, and click Save to New File.
  3. Enter a new name for the Revit file.

Inserting a Drafting View from Another Project

  1. Click Insert tab Import panel Insert from File drop-down Insert Views from File.
  2. In the Open dialog, select a project file, and click Open.
The Insert Views dialog opens, which displays views that are saved in the project.
From the list, select an option for views to display.
  1. Select the views to insert, and click OK.
Revit creates a new drafting view with all the 2D components and text. If you have duplicate type names, the type name and properties from the current project are used, and a warning message displays.

Thursday, 21 July 2011

Annotating Parts

After you have created your Parts assembly and set up a 3D view you then need to lock your 3D View which then allows you to Annotate your view.



Name this view and use it in your assembly detailing.

Wednesday, 20 July 2011

Scheduling Parts

There are two ways to schedule Parts in Revit:

Method 1

1.      Click View tab > Create panel > Schedule > Material Takeoff. Under Category, select “Part”.

2.      Add the fields “Original Category”, “Original Type”, “Material : Name”, “Material: Volume”.

3.      On the Sorting/Grouping tab, set “Sort by” as “Material : Name”, check “Header”, “Footer”, and select “Totals only”.

4.      On the Formatting tab, select “Material: Volume”, check “Calculate totals” in right panel, and click OK.
 
Method 2:

1.      Click View tab > Create panel > Schedule > Schedule/Quantities. Under Category, select “Part”.

2.      Add the fields “Original Category”, “Original Type”, ”Material” and “Volume”.

3.      On the Sorting/Grouping tab, set “Sort by” as “Material”, check “Header”, “Footer”, and select “Totals only”.

4.      On the Formatting tab, select “Volume”, check “Calculate totals” in right panel, and click OK.
The big difference between the two methods:

With method 1, most parameters in the Identity tab of Material dialog (Click Manage tab>Settings panel>Materials), for example, material URL, Manufacture, Cost, etc, are listed in the available field of the material takeoff schedule, but for method 2, you cannot add these parameters to parts schedule.